Sunrisers Hyderabad’s IPL 2023 Squad and Schedule: Can They Bounce Back with Aiden Markram as Skipper and Brian Lara as Coach?

Author name

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s IPL 2023 campaign: A preview of the team’s strengths and weaknesse

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) is gearing up for its opening Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 clash against Rajasthan Royals on April 2nd. Aiden Markram, a South African batsman, has taken over as the new skipper, while West Indies legend Brian Lara has been appointed as the team’s head coach. After their title win in 2016, the team’s captaincy has been their biggest concern, resulting in the axing of Australian opener David Warner and New Zealand batsman Kane Williamson due to the team’s poor performances in the last two seasons.

Harry Brook and Mayank Agarwal’s Inclusion: Can They Strengthen Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Top Order in IPL 2023?

In order to bolster their top order, SRH has added Indian batsman Mayank Agarwal and Harry Brook, one of England cricket’s most promising young talents. Brook, who is being hailed as the next big thing in English cricket, is expected to play a vital role in the middle order. In his debut IPL season, the 24-year-old boasts 2,432 runs from 99 T20s at a strike rate of 148.32.

Brian Lara’s Appointment as Head Coach: What It Means for Sunrisers Hyderabad’s IPL 2023 Campaign.

With Brian Lara replacing Tom Moody as head coach, the West Indian legend may have more freedom to experiment with the batting order. Apart from the experienced Bhuvneshwar Kumar, the team also has Umran Malik, Jansen, T. Natarajan, and Kartik Tyagi in the mix, not to mention Afghanistan’s left-arm pacer Fazalhaq Farooqi, who is in the reserves.


However, SRH’s spin-bowling options are limited, with Adil Rashid expected to take on most of the responsibility, although Sundar, Markram, Abhishek, and Mayank Markande could provide crucial support.

The team lacks an experienced Indian batsman in the top order apart from Mayank Agarwal and Rahul Tripathi.

Here is the complete schedule for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in IPL 2023

SN team time
1 (2 April ) Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals Hyderabad (3:30 PM IST)
2 (April 7)  Lucknow Super Giants vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Lucknow (7:30 PM IST)
3 (April 9)  Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Punjab Kings Hyderabad (7:30 PM IST)
4 (April 14 ) Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kolkata (7:30 PM IST)
5 (April 18 ) Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai Indians,  Hyderabad (7:30 PM IST)
6 (April 21) Chennai Super Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad  Chennai (7:30 PM IST)
7 (April 24 ) Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Delhi Capitals, Hyderabad (7:30 PM IST)
8 (April 29) Delhi Capitals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad  Delhi (7:30 PM IST)
9 (May 4 ) Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders, Hyderabad (7:30 PM IST)
10 (May 7 ) Rajasthan Royals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Jaipur (7:30 PM IST)
11 ( May 13  ) Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Lucknow Super Giants, Hyderabad (3:30 PM IST)
12 (May 15  ) Gujarat Titans vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Ahmedabad (7:30 PM IST)
13 (May 18  )  Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, Hyderabad (7:30 PM IST)
14  (May 21  ) Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad,  Mumbai (3:30 PM IST)


Here is the team’s strongest playing XI:

Abhishek Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Harry Brook

Leave a comment